Murielle Chavarot-Kerlidou

CNRS Senior Scientist

Murielle Chavarot-Kerlidou received her Ph.D. degree in 1998 from the University Joseph Fourier (Grenoble). After a post-doctoral period in the group of Dr. Zoe Pikramenou (University of Birmingham, UK) studying photo-induced supramolecular processes based on luminescent metallocyclodextrins, she spent two years in the group of Marc Fontecave to develop chiral-at-metal ruthenium catalysts for enantioselective oxidation. She obtained in 2002 a CNRS position at the Université Pierre et Marie Curie (Paris), where her research interests dealt with the development of new applications of the arene-tricarbonyl metal complexes. In 2009, she moved to the Laboratory of Chemistry and Biology of Metals (University Joseph Fourier, CNRS, CEA, Grenoble) to work on hydrogen photoproduction. Her recent projects deal with the construction of hydrogen-evolving photocathodes by a molecular strategy and with the study of light-driven charge accumulation thanks to original ruthenium complexes, possessing pi-extended ligands.

In 2019, Murielle was appointed "Membre distingué senior" of the French Chemical Society.

Since the 1st of January 2021, she took over as deputy director of the GDR solar fuels (


Selected Publications:

Tuning the Electron Storage Potential of a Charge‐Photoaccumulating RuII Complex by a DFT‐Guided Approach

N. M. Randell, J. Rendon, M. Demeunynck,  P.‐A. Bayle, S. Gambarelli, V. Artero, J.‐M. Mouesca, M.Chavarot‐Kerlidou*

Chem. Eur. J. 2019, 61, 13911-13920.


Electron transfer in a covalent dye–cobalt catalyst assembly – a transient absorption spectroelectrochemistry perspective

Sebastian Bold,  Linda Zedler,  Ying ZhangJulien Massin,  Vincent ArteroMurielle Chavarot-Kerlidou* and  Benjamin Dietzek*

Chem. Commun. 2018, 54, 10594-10597.

An artificial photosynthetic system for photoaccumulation of two electrons on a fused dipyridophenazine (dppz) – pyridoquinolinone ligand

J.-F. Lefebvre, J. Schindler, P. Traber, Y. Zhang, S. Kupfer, S. Gräfe,  I. Baussanne, M. Demeunynck, J.-M. Mouesca, S. Gambarelli, V. Artero, B. Dietzek,* M. Chavarot-Kerlidou*

Chem. Sci. 2018, 9, 4152-59.

A noble metal-free photocatalytic system based on a novel cobalt tetrapyridyl catalyst for hydrogen production in fully aqueous medium

N. Queyriaux, E. Giannoudis, C. D. Windle, S. Roy, J. Pécaut, A. G. Coutsolelos,* V. Artero and M. Chavarot-Kerlidou*

Sustain. Energy Fuels, 2018 2, 553-557

Aqueous photocurrent measurements correlated to ultrafast electron transfer dynamics at ruthenium tris diimine-sensitized NiO photocathodes.

N. Queyriaux, R. A. Wahyuono, J. Fize, C. Gablin, M. Wächtler, E. Martinez, D. Léonard,* B. Dietzek,* V. Artero, M. Chavarot-Kerlidou*

J. Phys. Chem. C 2017, 121, 5891−5904.


Covalent Design for Dye-Sensitized H2-evolving Photocathodes based on a Cobalt Diimine-Dioxime Catalyst

N. Kaeffer, J. Massin, C. Lebrun, O.  Renault, M.  Chavarot-Kerlidou, V. Artero*

J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2016, 138, 12308−12311

Synthesis of three series of ruthenium tris-diimine complexes containing acridine-based p-extended ligands using an efficient “chemistry on the complex” approach.

J.-F. Lefebvre, D. Saadallah, P. Traber, S. Kupfer, S. Gräfe, B. Dietzek, I. Baussanne, J. De Winter, P. Gerbaux, C. Moucheron,* M. Chavarot-Kerlidou,* 

M. Demeunynck*

Dalton Trans. 2016, 45, 16298-16308.


Recent Developments in Hydrogen Evolving Molecular Cobalt(II)-Polypyridyl Catalysts.

N. Queyriaux, R. T. Jane, J. Massin, V. Artero,* M. Chavarot-Kerlidou*

Coord. Chem. Rev. 2015, 304-305, 3-19; special issue on “Current Challenges in Supramolecular Artificial Photosynthesis.